UCC students pick up 2017 Costello award

Two fourth-year dental students from Cork University Dental School and Hospital have been named as the recipients of this year’s Tony Costello Memorial Medal.

Li Ying Mah and Eva Taaffe presented a poster presentation entitled ‘Anatomical Patient Factors that Limit Orthodontic Treatment’ at the IDA’s Annual Conference in Kilkenny recently. The students, who were supervised by Prof Declan Millet and Dr Patricia McDermott, were presented with their award by Mrs Costello in memory of her late husband, and the new IDA president Robin Foyle.

The award of the Tony Costello Memorial Medal is based on a poster presentation on a subject applicable to general dental practice and is judged on clinical usefulness, academic content, presentation and originality.

Published: 10 July, 2017 at 15:41